Thursday, December 13, 2012

Saille: "Ritu" Titanic Symphony

Ritu” is the latest album of the Symphonic Black Metallers Saille and once more this powerful band managed to surprise with a really mature and professional nine track full-length which releases forty-six minutes of macabre environment.

They entered the Shumcot Studio in July 2012 to record this magnificent symphonic and multilayered composition which is not only presented by the sextet that composes the band musicians as well as an allied formation serving as a complete orchestra that brings out the musical ambiance of the work giving it a more real, melodic, atmospheric and vibrant touch, with different words “Ritu” receives a deeper sounding that gives it life without letting it fall into the boring and indifference.

Inspired by ancient cultures that cultivated ritual sacrifices and by adding to that inspiration the interests in H. P. Lovecraft and Cthulhu of the vocalist Dennie Grondelaer the result is nothing less than a severe and haunted sonority which reminds the weird fiction and the horror of the dark tales of Lovecraft but more than that this work explores a vast and eerie background proper from Saille´s influences of Tartaros, Limbonic Art and Keep of Kalessin soundscapes. In a certain way all the influences and inspirations that led to this album came together in harmony by sharing something in common… dark energy!

It´s impossible to a real metal connoisseur to not get caught by the sound, created by the explosion of so many instruments, as deep and wide as a primordial Dimmu Borgir or as a Keep of Kalessin. All the guest musicians invited to the breeding of this epic piece contributed to its making in a way that all the instruments complement each other resulting in an audible experience in which the union is the strength. 

Despite this fact it is also obvious the complexity and individuality of each musician and its instrument in the entire work. The keyboard played by the founder of Saille called Dries Gaerdelen invokes with perfection the obscure clime being one of the most important tools to the conjuration of the deep and tenebrous symphonies. The guitars played by Reinier Schenk and Jonathan Vanderwal never remain long equal which contributed to the music not becoming tedious, instead the songs are full of melting power chords, strong and catchy riffs with different effects, melodic solos filled with rage and speed, different tempos, different tunes, and this is why their music is so well varied and so unique. The battery played by Gert Monden is a monster, without a doubt a gain to “Ritu”. With Gert technique this symphonic orchestra turns into a malevolent titan unleashing nonstop crazy drumming that fits like a glove in the profound atmosphere giving extra texture to the music. The vocal work of Dennie Grondelaer is also very complex and his voice is highly concentrated; he uses different singing techniques and he also adds demonic effects to his voice in some phrases so that his voice fits the lyrics the best way possible. The bass played by Didier Vancampo was my only disappointment of this work being the only instrument overlaid, hidden many times in the middle of the chaos.

That said the effort, and brilliance of Saille as well as the production of “Ritu” proved to be impeccable, almost flawless, which is a difficult accomplishment since their music contains so many sound layers. The final result is a creepy and gruesome atmosphere that will leave you with bristly hairs and that will make you enjoy every minute of this black symphony experience. I think that with a work of this caliber Saille opened a door that will allow them to reach further and give us more, much more…

One melee with the words, ideas and its paradoxes... albuns that are news, the reviews at "", always with its watermark,  Pedro Ribeiro, with love for beer... sorry, music from an early age, he studied piano and singing from 7 to 14 years,  then, devoted himself to the study of the guitar for 5 years. "The wisdom is found in the extremes, all extreme Metal here!"

1 Blood Libel
2 Subcutaneous Terror
3 Fhtagn
4 Upon the Idol of Crona
5 Sati
6 A Titan's Sacrifice
7 Haunter of the Dark
8 Runaljod
9 Ritual Descent

The official lyric video for "Haunter Of The Dark", can be seen below. 

“Ritu” will be released on January  18, 2013 via Aural Music Code666 Records. The follow-up to 2011's "Irreversible Decay" was produced and mixed by Reinier Schenk (GORATHFLESHMOULD) and mastered by Tom Kv√•lsvoll (1349DIMMU BORGIRKEEP OF KALESSIN).

Cover art comes courtesy of Polish digital landscape artist Michal Karcz.

facebook.saille |


  1. A fucking band \m/

  2. awsome band, can't wait for the new album!!!!!