Saturday, May 4, 2013

MORMANT DE SNAGOV reveal cover and tracklist for upcoming album, Derisive Philosophy

Finnish Black Metallers MORMANT DE SNAGOV revealed the cover artwork and tracklist for their upcoming full-length album, Derisive Philosophy, the band's second opus, which is made of 7 aggressive and haunting Black Metal tracks adorned by melodious darkness and freezing cold atmospheres, and is set to be released on Pest Records this Summer. Definitely the band's best material to date, Derisive Philosophy will establish MORMANT DE SNAGOV among the most important Finnish Black Metal exports ever!

1. Comatose
2. Divine Dismemberment
3. The End of My Thoughts
4. Detrimental Edict
5. Abnormities
6. Transient Lunar Phenomenon
7. The Triumph

Mormânt De Snagov was founded in 2008 by Domnul Cadavru in Southwest Finland. The aim of the band was to create stripped-down black metal.Mormânt De Snagov respects classical black metal influences immensely, but also explores new territories boldly and adds new aspects to the genre. A great part of the lyrics have risen from the frustration towards the hypocritical religious community and are openly blasphemous. Also, as the name of the band suggests, Domnul Cadavru is fascinated by the Southeast European legends; some of the lyrics are dealing with such concepts as immortality and the resurrection of evil.

After the writing process had begun, the one-man solo project rapidly extended its’ line-up to an established band when Cáhcerávga, Balaur and Faolán Domhnall joined the crew. Thus re-created Mormânt De Snagov completed the compositions and arrangements together and after a rehearsal period the recording of the debut album "Rise from The Void" started in February 2009.

At early stage the band decided to keep the recording process as minimalistic and organic as possible. Consequently a professional studio was an excluded option, no commercially orientated space would have been the right stage nor would it have provided the right atmosphere for what would become the debut album of Mormânt De Snagov. The band contacted a good friend of theirs, VK, who set up a custom studio rigging to a place subsequently named as Arthur III. Eight songs were laid down and every one of them were included on the debut album, “Rise From The Void”.

After a short search for a distributor/publisher Mormânt De Snagov signed a deal with a record label hailing from the midst of Central Finland,Wintersunset Records. “Rise From The Void” was released throughWintersunset Records in February 2010.

In the beginning of 2011 Mormânt De Snagov released the official music video “Secluded Sleeper”, which was followed by the very limited "Secluded Sleeper" CD-EP. The spring 2011 also saw the band recording new material. Two songs of the band’s new direction was released in the “Detrimental Edict” CD-R demo, which was released in April 2011. In the same monthMormânt De Snagov was seen live for the last time with the bass player Cáhcerávga. The parting was amicable and soon after Cáhcerávga’s departureMormânt De Snagov recruited the band’s long- time friend Wârcolac for the duty. With the new lineup the band performed few live shows around Finland during the late 2011. In the beginning of December 2011 Mormânt De Snagov released another CD-R demo titled “Divine Dismemberment” which includes three new songs.

In the late 2012 Mormânt De Snagov released a split CD-R together with Turku based Black Metal band Die Schwarze Sonne.
Domnul Cadavru - Vocals, Guitar 
Faolan Domhnall - Guitar 
Balaur - Drums 
Wârcolac - Bass 

No comments:

Post a Comment