Monday, May 6, 2013

THE GARDNERZ: “The System of Nature” Full Album Streaming

In the beautiful lands of Southern Sweden where the cold of winter is felt and the white covers the branches of naked trees a dark force remains in its shelter and waits silently like a predator watches its prey until the opportune moment to release its claws against the ignorance of man.

In the middle of 2008 Landskrona gave birth to the hungry beast called THE GARDNERZ, a dommy death metal band formed by Wihelm Lindh (the man behind the guitar). With the desire to spread his own metal as blood running in his veins he initiated the demand for artists that could integrate shrewdly into the dark energy he intended to liberate and so in the late 2008 Francisco Martín (bass wielder) joined the loud force and that was how the first steps of the band started to leave a trace, with the debut album taking shape. A longtime friend of FranciscoJuan Pablo fitted well in the formation and was recruited to do the drums (currently he is no longer part of the band) and after a long time of searching for a vocalist Niclas Ankarbranth shattered voice stepped in to the picture.

This musical monster is very versatile and blends various components of death metal with a slower and brutal doom but they don´t fully fit that category taking their music even further to a more diversified path that makes them unique. With a slow and nasty sound of heavy metal full of distortion and catchy clean notes that compose sorrowful and gloomy melodies, they mix technique with simplicity to create a vast soundscape and fresh touch. Lyrically they deal with philosophical ideas and the strange ways of Man in life specially the hypocrisy, greed and creeds of human being, the fallacies of religion, consumerism and how insignificant events shapes a Man´s entire life.

THE GARDNERZ dark energy was finally unleashed… the debut album “The System of Nature” was mastered by Dan Swanö at his Unisound Studio and was released on the 20th of September 2011 on digipack CD through Abyss Records and is also available as gatefold LP by Mechanix Records and downloads through Digmetalworld.

For a debut album “System of Nature” was very well worked and presents us a bone breaker sound with technical, catchy and heavy riffs that sometimes gives place to a cleaner string experience that fills the music with sad and dark melodies. The songs of this album fit in the death/doom category but in my opinion there is a progressive sound present because they mutate their style so many times during this 12 track work (two of them are covers of the bands VULCANO and WINTER) that is hard to say that they are pure death with a gloomy flourish. The guitar offers many techniques and styles with slow, medium pace and fast rhythms, brutal heavy distortions and clean phrases, fast short solos, complex and strong riffs and simpler lines. The bass is easily audible not remaining beneath the other instruments and follows the music with splendor also having its moments of focus with simple solo lines but I think it adds nothing special or particular to the music. Niclas vocals are profound; he uses a heavy growl and a devilish voice that exudes exceptionally the messages of the songs. The drums are very powerful and create that brutal background with a slow rhythm that sometimes turns into a complex frenzy of death metal.

In general the album “System of Nature” was well conceived with songs that are pretty good but with others that fall into oblivion. The most positive factor in this work was that they created their own sound that automatically separated them from comparisons and gave them a highlight in the metal scene. In a way they have shown that they were capable of doing more and one year later they ended up impressing…

1. The Art of Suffering 0:00
2. Lady in the Grave 4:11
3. Your Final Solution 8:55
4. Born to Consume 14:14
5. Incident 19:08
6. Shift in Thought 23:46
7. Flaw in the Axiom 28:20
8. More or Less 34:24
9. Confusion 39:49
10. Maybe it's Time 45:19
11. Bloody Vengeance (Vulcano cover) 50:50
12. Servants of the Warsmen (Winter cover) 54:54

Cover art done by Maggot master 
The band recorded two new songs, Exiting Reality prt 1 and prt 2 for a single with the same name.  This single will be released by Abyss Records in the 2013 summer as a 7 inch single. Guitars and bass was recorded at: Funky Cat studios. Drums were recorded at: Armageddon studio. Vocals were recorded at: Natas sinep. The single was mixed and mastered by Cristian Rodríguez Lunecke at 15Hz Studio.

Summary of a review about the band, full review can be read here by Pedro Ribeiro.

The Gardnerz` Wilhelm Lindh Interviewed; Exiting Reality Cover Art Revealed can be read here.

No comments:

Post a Comment