Monday, November 25, 2013

Happyness Self titled Debut EP Released January 6th on Weird Smiling

“College-rock mannerisms and gently acerbic, conversational, lyrics… the sort of debut that manages to impress without evening seeming to break stride” - The Fly.

Happyness are a three-piece from South London consisting of Jonny Allan, Benji Compston and Ashley Cooper. Having self-produced their debut EP in Jelly Boy Studios, their loft, the band will be announcing their self-titled EP set for release early January 2014. In the lead up to this lo-fi 4-track offering, mixed by Ed Harcourt and mastered by Adam Lasus (Yo La Tengo, PJ Harvey, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah), Happyness have gathered friends and fans on both sides of the Atlantic. Influences are diverse and broad but bands such as Sparklehorse, Yo La Tengo and Wilco have clearly inspired. Dreamy, hook laden, with a song writing prowess far beyond their tender years – Happyness are the real deal.
To coincide with the online announcement of lead track “It’s On You”, the band will be embarking on a mini-tour of the UK throughout November. The dates are as follows:

November 29th- Hoxton Bar and Grill, London (w/ Casual Sex)

A limited run of 500 physical copies available in selected record stores around the UK from November, with digital release in January

No comments:

Post a Comment