Thursday, November 8, 2012

Lord Agheros: The gods knelt before him with "Demiurgo"

In the beginning there was not light only the tenebrous chaos reigned during a time of darkness. The first moments of creation occurred during total blackness. Erebo and Nix, dark and night, emerged with the unfolding of primordial Chaos and with them born the luminosity and day as also mortals´ virtues and infamies that were their sons. The Human soul was created and divided with darkness and light and a deep confrontation began within our bodies, a battle between good and evil to balance our soul.

A Colossal has seen the dark of night and light of day; it walked into the depths of harsh lands of fire and saw lost souls and stepped in mortals’ fertile soil and bathed in moonlight. Now the Colossal is free in a black symphony form called “Demiurgo”. The creator is the solo artist Lord Agheros, the mastermind of this epic musical journey through the personification of feelings, values, slanders and emotions… an inspiring work based on Greek mythology that divides the Human soul in two, the evil and the good, through Erebo´s and Nix´s sons. The two distinct parts of the soul are represented by two chapters (Chapter I – the night in the infernal reign – Extreme music; Chapter II – the night in the Human world – Atmospheric music) in a cruel but moving concoction of classical/symphonic extreme ambient metal.

Demiurgo the creator of Universe is the omnipotent figure and link between these dualities (good and evil/dark and light) in the Human soul, he functions as the key to the door of creation, he is the mutable music of life, the core of everything and nothing, the moulder of the whole in his own image. The name of the album (“Demiurgo”) is the concept of creation of Erebo and Nix and performs also (in my view) other purport, to give life to the music itself.

I’ve been able to find a chain in this complex experience, a sequence with a specific order that tells a history almost as a scenical/theatrical erection. Gerassimos Evangelou, writer, composer and instrumentist of this artistic full-length carries us through the initial infinity, to the beginning until the end. The first Chapter is the strongest part of the album with a blend of pure black metal with an organic ambient touch, piano melodies, clean guitar phrases, classic guitar lines, string and chorus synths, a full throttle machine unleashing music mayhem.  The second Chapter drops the destructive force of the first part and takes a melancholic, gloomy and atmospheric path with a structure defined by classic music with a synthetic mixture to give a deeper environment to the songs. After the storm the calm arrives, this is the perfect balance between black metal and classic ambience, a truly vibrant symphony of evil and good. 

The trek starts with a prologue; an Italian voice speaks of the principle of time, creation and destruction and this opens the path to the first part of “Demiurgo”. The first son is Eris the personification of discord. The second son is Stix the personification of hate. The third son is Thanatos, the personification of death. The fourth son is Moros, the personification of destiny. The fifth son is Nemesi, the personification of vengeance. The sixth son is Lyssa, the personification of madness. The seventh son is Letum, the personification of dissolution.  The end of the first chapter comes with a chaotic disharmony of sounds, with Erebo himself, the personification of darkness.

Nix, the personification of night is the inspiring energy that makes the second Chapter begin with a rainy ambient and cloudy mood and dictates what we can expect from this section. The eighth son is Oizys, the personification of misery. The ninth son is Emera, the personification of day. The tenth son is Geras, the personification of age. The eleventh son is Lysimele, the personification of love. The twelfth son is Ker, the personification of violent death. The thirteenth son is Apate, the personification of deception. And the final son is Etere, the personification of light/sky. Etere marks the end of the second Chapter and of this revitalizing work of art with the achievement of light after a large period of darkness, the perfect ending.

Lord Agheros once again pulled out a colossal journey and I have to say even the gods knelt before him with this epic ode to the Greek mythology and Mortal´s soul. My soul is in piece!

One melee with the words, ideas and its paradoxes... albuns that are news, the reviews at "", always with its watermark,  Pedro Ribeiro, with love for beer... sorry, music from an early age, he studied piano and singing from 7 to 14 years,  then, devoted himself to the study of the guitar for 5 years. "The wisdom is found in the extremes, all extreme Metal here!"

- Chapter I
1. Prologue
2. Eris
3. Styx
4. Thanatos
5. Moros
6. Nemesi
7. Lyssa
8. Letum
9. Erebo
- Chapter II
10. Nyx
11. Oizys
12. Emera
13. Geras
14. Lysimele
15. Ker
16. Apate
17. Etere

Street Date: November 26th, 2012

No comments:

Post a Comment