Thursday, July 11, 2013

MONOGAMY PARTY shares details of first full length; False Dancers out September 17th Stream new song "Crimes"

July 10th, 2013, Seattle - The original trio of Monogamy Party - Kennedy on vocals, Yos-wa on bass, and Keith on drums - was a powerful enough entity. Just take another spin through their impish and intense 10" EP Pus City right now if you don't believe us. Or, just listen to the good people at Seattle Weekly who called the record a "gritty, well-crafted noise rock wonderland." Now, just imagine injecting even more tumult into the mix via the Party's new guitarist Ricky. The results are downright volatile.

Again, you needn't take our words for it. You just have to crack open the bristling white-hot energy that is the band's debut full-length False Dancers to experience it firsthand.

Recorded with the help of Austin Thomason (Jeremy Enigk, Pleasureboaters) and his mobile Mt. Plyushkin Studios, the band retreated to Granite Falls - the meth capitol of Washington State - to a property that was the former home of a hoarder who lived with a swarm of rabbits and peacocks. "It's crazy up there," says Kennedy. "Abandoned cars and garbage and metal everywhere. There’s even a pack of wild roosters roaming around."

The joy and chaos of that experience blazes out of these 10 songs, with Ricky's screeching guitar lines cutting through the thick syrupy sounds stirred up by the rhythm section. While the vocals flux between controlled narration demanding attention and squeals of frustration as Kennedy struggles to keep up with the rest of the band. They may cull from more serious influences like early Sonic YouthBlack Eyes, and Arab on Radar, but the sound of False Dancers is a sweat-soaked, drug-fueled dance party.

"The mission of the band," says Kennedy, "is to create a sex positive, drug positive experience amid the frustration and chaos that constantly surrounds us."

The first taste of False Dancers, "Crimes," was just released on SoundCloud and is available to stream for your readers. You want to hear the whole album or talk to the band about it, get in touch. We're ready to believe you.

Monogamy Party's next live show is Friday July 26th as part of the stellar line-up of Seattle's Capitol Hill Block Party. Record release shows and a fall tour are currently being plotted.

Artist: Monogamy Party
Album: False Dancers
Label: Good to Die Records
Release Date: September 17th, 2013
Format: LP / Digital

Track list:
1. Blank Stare
2. Crimes
3. Ordinary Things
4. Ashamed
5. Wasted Time
6. Walls
7. Show and Tell
8. Blood
9. Terrible Mistake
10. Cold Machine

No comments:

Post a Comment