Saturday, August 10, 2013

Soilwork – The Living Infinite Review

This one deserves some attention for sure. As soon as I first heard album teaser (trailer), I was eager to hear more and when the album finally  came out, expectations were fullfilled. Great double album with great modern sound of melodic death metal (although, a bit more melodic than death ) with loads of energy. Soilwork finally released an album that people were/are really excited about. It has a good balance between hard riffs – catchy melodies and growling – clean singing. For some reason songs from this album boost my energy, therefore it's often played when I exercise or go rolerblading.

I must say that I'm very impressed, because album contains exactly zero bad songs, just some of them are stronger than other ones.  Only „bad thing“ about this album is that it's a double album, because most people have hard time listening to a single album in one go, so that's a bit of a problem for some. However, these two discs balance each other so perfectly it would be a shame not to listen to it at once. Standout tracks from the album are definitely „Spectrum Of Eternity (with it's epic intro, and then the epic screeaaaam), „This Momentary Bliss“ (catchiest song of the album), and „Long Live The Misantrophy“ (one hell of a greasy riff at the beggining).  In my opininon, „The Living Infinite“ is not only the best album of the year so far, but one of the best metal albums in last 5 years, maybe more.

Summary: This album is totally awesome, mind blasting, buy it, listen to it! 

And so it was written that Tena Kovačićthe vile Lilith was spawned from the depths of Croatia to join the hordes of the  reviewers. "The wisdom is found in the extremes, all extreme Metal here!"


01. Spectrum Of Eternity
02. Memories Confined
03. This Momentary Bliss
04. Tongue
05. The Living Infinite I
06. Let The First Wave Rise
07. Vesta
08. Realm Of The Wasted
09. The Windswept Mercy
10. Whispers And Light


01. Entering Aeons
02. Long Live The Misanthrope
03. Drowning With Silence
04. Antidotes In Passing
05. Leech
06. The Living Infinite II
07. Loyal Shadow
08. Rise Above The Sentiment
09. Parasite Blues
10. Owls Predict, Oracles Stand Guard

"The Living Infinite" was released through Nuclear Blast on March 1st (EU), 4th (UK), 5th, 2013 (USA)  "The Living Infinite" was the first double album in the history of melodic death metal.

No comments:

Post a Comment